Sean Alexander Named 2016 Foundation of Art Award Winner

The Greater Tacoma Community Foundation is pleased to announce artist Sean Alexander as the winner of its ninth annual Foundation of Art Award.

Founded in 2008, the Foundation of Art Award is one of the most prestigious regional art awards, designed to recognize the talent and commitment of local artists to the Pierce County community.

As the recipient, Alexander will receive a $7,500 award and create a commissioned art piece for the Community Foundation, to be unveiled in an exhibit in October 2016 at a Spaceworks gallery, which will also feature the work of the other 15 Foundation of Art Award nominees.

“I have been a dedicated community member and artist in Tacoma for about a decade now,” Alexander said. “I love this city and the people here. Being chosen for this award is humbling and serves as a reminder to keep investing into my own work and the greater community that I am a part of.”

Alexander is a multi-disciplinary artist/designer and his art projects have included detailed pen drawings, furniture building, digital manipulation, writing and conceptual/social experimentation. Outside of his practice as an artist, Sean co-owns a local design studio called AM Independent. His past community projects include founding The Helm Gallery (’06-’08) and the Squeak and Squawk Music Festival.

Alexander was one of 16 talented Pierce County artists nominated for the Award by a committee of local art professionals. Other nominees included: Silong Chhun, Andrew Deem, Todd Jannausch, Maria Jost, Chris Johnson, Alicia Dawn Miranda, Zachary Marvick, Nicholas Nyland, Matthew Olds, Amy Reeves, Claudia Riedener, Jason Sobottka, Dion Thomas, Peeta Tinay, and Chandler Woodfin.

The previous eight Foundation of Art winners include Chris Sharp in 2008, Jeremy Mangan in 2009 Lisa Kinoshita in 2010, Jessica Spring in 2011, Oliver Doriss in 2012, Shaun Peterson in 2013, Elise Richman in 2014, Christopher Paul Jordan in 2015, and Sean Alexander in 2016.

An online gallery of is available showcasing images of each nominee’s artwork.